Traditional Easter biscuits

This recipe is taken from 1001 cupcakes, cookies and other tempting treats.  This book was given to me at Christmas, it has proved to be a great source of inspiration and includes all sorts of ideas if you fancy a quick and easy treat.  I don’t tend to eat a lot of biscuits to be honest but as Easter is around the corner I decided to have a go at something traditional.  The fact that they include mixed spice and currants sold it for me and it was a great excuse to use my bunny shape biscuit cutter.

Unfortunately the recipe didn’t go quite to plan, when I tried to roll the dough out it was too sticky and there was no way I could cut any kind of shape out of it.  I was about to give up and start again when I decided to scrape the mixture up and try adding some more flour.  Eventually I managed to knead it in to more of a dough like consistency and I was able to cut out my bunnies.  I’m not convinced that they look anything like bunnies but I put them in the oven and they turned out perfectly fine.  Who knows where I went wrong, I did halve the recipe so it’s perfectly possible that I got the measurements wrong.  If you decide to have a go and find that the dough is quite sticky before you put it in the fridge, add some more flour and see how you get on.

 
You will need;
 
225g/8 oz butter, softened
140g/5 0z caster sugar, plus extra for sprinkling
1 egg yolk, lightly beaten
28og/10 oz plain flour
1tsp mixed spice
pinch of salt
1 tbsp mixed peel (optional)
55g/2 oz currants
1 egg white, lightly beaten

Place the butter and sugar in a large bowl and beat together until light and fluffy, then beat in the egg yolk.  Sift together the flour, mixed spice and salt into the mixture, add the mixed peel and currants and stir until thoroughly combined.  Halve the dough, shape into balls, wrap in clingfilm and chill in the refrigerator for 30-60 minutes.

Preheat the oven to 190c/375F/Gas Mark 5.  Line 2 large baking sheets with greaseproof paper.  Unwrap the dough and roll out between 2 sheets of baking paper.

Cut out the biscuits with your chosen cutter and place them on the greaseproof paper, spaced well apart.

Bake in the preheated oven for 7 minutes, then brush with the egg white and sprinkle with the sugar.  Bake for a further 5-8 minutes, or until light golden brown.  Leave to cool on the baking sheets for 5 – 10 minutes, then transfer to wire racks to cool completely.

4 thoughts on “Traditional Easter biscuits

  1. These are so cute! I’m always looking for new uses for my cookie cutters and this is great!

    • I’m pleased you like them. I’ve just become a bit obsessed with cookie cutters, so many different shapes that you can buy! x

Leave a Reply

